Thanksgiving Traditions?? . . .

         

Thanksgiving is Here!   Another year is nearly gone already.  I haven’t been as diligent as I should in keeping up my blogging activity.  So this week as I wrap up the month, I began to ponder a bit about the upcoming Thanksgiving holiday next week.  For many the holiday this year may be stressful, or melancholy, for others full of tradition, family and lots of Turkey!  For me. . . not quite sure yet.  But one thing I am sure of, is that no matter how hard life may seem at times, I know that I have an amazing life and a lot to be thankful for!

The Denver post had a great blog posting regarding this upcoming day…  I can’t think of our family traditions?  It seems to be more of just a classic day that is our tradition, I guess.  It goes something like this…..  I try to sleep in until atleast eight a.m., if I am lucky. Then, the cooking begins, as well as the constant snacking and nibbling all morning too.  Of course, we watch the ‘Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade.”   Making pies with my sweet Grandma, setting the table with turkey place settings, and a house full of family.  Then the actual feast commences, with all the immediate family and cousins and friends.  Everyone takes a turn to share what they are thankful for.  Now too full to even walk, I roll onto the couch and resign to watching football with my brothers, fall asleep, wake up to family cards, then do absolutely nothing the rest of the day.  So is this whole day considered a tradition?  Does anyone of this sound familiar?

So the Denver Post forum regarding Thanksgiving traditions really struck a cord this year.   Some of the traditions shared were pretty funny, and some gave me some great ideas to try to inaugurate into my family traditions for the holiday. 

“I am the Queen of Traditions except for Thanksgiving. We usually go for a hike on the Turkey Trot trail and saying something for which we are thankful at the dinner table. Otherwise, our holiday seems to fall a little flat. What Thanksgiving traditions do you have in your family? (posted by ‘crazy canuk.)  We do a turkey bowl every year (as in go bowling).  I have also been wanting to expand our traditions and found this great list on Ezinearticles . . .  (more….) 

I like the “Turkey Bowl” idea as well as idea #8 the best:  “Show your gratitude to an unsung hero. Get together with your family and decide on a person or a group in your community who could use an extra pat on the back, ie. firefighters, soldiers, police officers, volunteers. Put together a special plate of goodies and deliver it (or pack it up for shipping) as a family.”  I think I might just add some of these ideas to my own family traditions this year.     

Happy Thanksgiving to all and thank you for all you do!  And don’t forget to enjoy a little classic Charlie Brown!

4 thoughts on “Thanksgiving Traditions?? . . .

  1. Hey Sue,
    I too have being thinking about traditions. As a kid, we really didn’t have many traditions other than spending it at Grandma’s house. The same goes for Christmas. When Jon and I got married we decided to start our own traditions and now that we are geographically far from our families I recognize how many traditions we have that are truly our own. We have a pretty traditional Thanksgiving dinner and the rest of the day is super chill. The Saturday after TG, we cut down our tree. We have done this every year even when I was two weeks from delivering Et. Doesn’t matter if it is a blizzard out, we go. The kids love this part. We spend the entire weekend trimming the tree, decorating the house and watching Christmas movies. In December, we have a few traditions too. We add a Christmas book, movie and cd to our collection every year. The kids get special jammies on Christmas Eve and a new ornament to hang on the tree before bedtime. I try to have the ornament be a representation of something big that happened to that person in the year – graduation, baptism, big trip somewhere, etc. or a representation of what the kids are into ie., legos, strawberry shortcake, batman, fishing, etc. We also started keeping a decorative box out at Christmas with strips of pretty paper where we can write down kind things that were done to us or that we did for someone else during the day. Finally, in the spirit of all things material – this one is from my childhood actually – we do a “frosty” gift on New Years’ Eve. Growing up we were poor and mom didn’t always have money to get things for Christmas, but for some reason money always came in between Christmas and New Years. Mom would get a gift after Christmas (taking advantage of sales no doubt) for each child and say it was from Frosty the Snowman. Often it was small and seemingly insignificant, but it was important to mom hence the tradition. Hope this is what you were looking for and I truly hope you and yours have a wonderful and peaceful Christmas season.

  2. I find that we also don’t have many Thanksgiving traditions other than eating. Surely it is about more than that! Thanks for the idea that it should be more than food.

Leave a Reply

